From Pages Bookshop

Upcoming Events

Author Visit: Secret Detroit by Karen Dybis

04/26/2018 - 6:00PM

Detroit is known for its automotive heritage, the Motown sound, and America's first mile of concrete highway. But this city on the river has more than three hundred years of history, and most of it is mighty strange. There's the Fisher Mansion, which was once home to rum-running gangsters and now houses one of Michigan's largest Hari Krishna populations. Picturesque Belle Isle once stored nuclear missiles among its playgrounds and fishing lagoons. Then there are incredible landmarks like...

Independent Bookstore Day 2018

04/28/2018 - 11:00AM

Independent Bookstore Day marks its fourth year of celebrating independent bookstores nationwide on Saturday, April 28th, with literary parties around the country. Pages will also offer exclusive day-of merchandise created especially for Independent Bookstore Day by major publishers and authors. Since its inception in 2014, more than 150 authors have demonstrated their support for independent bookstores by donating work for Bookstore Day. What's happening at Pages: -Local author and...

Book Launch: Travelers by Laura Bernstein-Machlay

05/03/2018 - 6:00PM

Travelers, Laura Bernstein-Machlay's debut collection of essays, maps the author's journey as she makes sense of her recovering city, the generations that preceded her, and her own definition of wife, mother, and home. These intimate, humorous and heartfelt essays offer an honest, and discerning look at the moments which both challenge and redeem us; the shaping of our lineage; and the profound necessity of hope. Deftly observed and thoughtfully crafted, Bernstein-Machlay's lyrical prose...

Author Grace Bonney @ The Eastern

05/10/2018 - 7:00PM

Join Pages Bookshop at The Eastern for a special event with Grace Bonney, author of best selling books In the Company of Women and creator of Design*Sponge, a daily website dedicated to home and product design. Inspired by the success of her latest book, In the Company of Women, Grace Bonney's Good Company will provide motivation, inspiration, practical advice, and a vital sense of connection and community for women and nonbinary creatives at every stage of...

Book Launch: Awaiting Identification by R.J. Fox

05/12/2018 - 6:00PM

Please join us for the official launch of R.J. Fox's debut novel, Awaiting Identification, published by Fish Out of Water Books. There will be a reading, followed by a Q & A and book signing.  Five bodies, five intersecting storylines, five lives . . . each searching for hope and redemption  Wayne County Medical Examiner's Office, Detroit, Michigan: October 31, 1999.  Five unidentified bodies lie in the Wayne County morgue on Halloween night. Although each character...

Author Visit: Beautiful Music by Michael Zadoorian

05/22/2018 - 6:00PM

Set in early 1970s Detroit, a divided city still reeling from its violent race riot of 1967, Beautiful Music is the story of one young man's transformation through music. Danny Yzemski is a husky, pop radio-loving loner balancing a dysfunctional homelife with the sudden harsh realities of freshman year at a high school marked by racial turbulence. But after tragedy strikes the family, Danny's mother becomes increasingly erratic and angry about the seismic cultural shifts unfolding...

Author Visit: Take Me With You by Andrea Gibson

05/26/2018 - 12:00PM

    For readers of Rupi Kaur (Milk and Honey) and Cheryl Strayed, a book small enough to carry with you, with messages big enough to stay with you, from one of the most quotable and influential poets of our time. Andrea Gibson explores themes of love, gender, politics, sexuality, family, and forgiveness with stunning imagery and a fierce willingness to delve into the exploration of what it means to heal and to be different in this strange age. Take Me With You, illustrated...

OFFSITE Author Event: Shitshow by Charlie LeDuff

05/30/2018 - 5:30PM

A daring, firsthand, and utterly-unscripted account of crisis in America, from Ferguson to Flint to Cliven Bundy's ranch to Donald Trump's unstoppable campaign for President--at every turn, Pulitzer-prize winner and bestselling author of Detroit: An American Autopsy, Charlie LeDuff was there. In the Fall of 2013, long before any sane person had seriously considered the possibility of a Trump presidency, Charlie LeDuff sat in the office of then-Fox News CEO Roger Ailes, and made a simple...

See more events >>